The Original Hayswood Hospital
The site of the Hayswood Hospital has a rich history. Originally built in the 1800s as Hayswood Seminary, it was later taken over by May Peale Wilson who operated the Wilson Infirmary (see postcard above) there until her death in 1908. Construction began on the current building in 1915. The new hospital was re-named after the old Seminary. Additions were added in 1925 and 1971 and though some sources claim that the original structure was incorporated into the new building, others say it was demolished completely. Hayswood eventually closed in 1983 with the opening of Meadowview Regional Medical Center. The building has been abandoned ever since. In recent years, however, there has been talks of either tearing the place down or refurbishing it.